I think I walk across campus 2-3 times a day, and in doing so I inevitably pass a large amount of college students. Something that has stuck in my mind for a few days now is how many people, even in the fleeting moments of my walk by, seem to be endlessly fascinated by "people". Now, I don't mean they are fascinated in "people" from a sociological, anthropological, historical, or even a particularly psychological point of view, but more of a general babble about other people's live without much intellectual dissection. Now, I'm not saying that everyone has to be so diverse that every conversation they have is about some worldly fascinating subject, but I do find it noteworthy that so few people discuss the happenings of life from any perspective other than life ending at the extent of what another person is doing with their own life.
What Brittany is doing with Brad, or why Ashley has been deciding to stay in more often than usual is, in 97% of cases, a worthless discussion. Now, I understand that to expect people to engage in fulfilling conversation on a daily, let alone constant, basis is unrealistic. People are interesting, I get that, and we're all quite adept at talking about them - even if we are substantially worse at talking to them about the things we're willing to talk about them. Still, when every conversation I hear is about the shallow world of someone else, I genuinely see no point in such talk. Now, if we were to talk about someone else and expound into a greater discussion based on that initial example, there is something of worth, but the likelihood is low that any of these conversations are ending in some level of revelation or progression apart from self satisfaction or mind numbing conversation.
I thought I was unable to find people in my immediate surroundings that have some level of interest about them, but it is coming forth to me that the majority of the university scene is not about growth, but rather to achieve, blindly, relatively unimportant grades while hoping the weekend approaches to relieve us of the "stupidity" of classes. Admittedly, I fell, in some degree, in that category as well when I first entered university, but the past year or so has been an awakening of how much I don't give a damn about Brad, Angelina, or whoever, but rather in espousing knowledge for furthering my own career and developing my creative exploits. Admittedly, by the same token, I would appreciate conversation with similar mindsets, because these people are interesting, I find - sadly, few opportunities have arisen thus far.
Anyway, maybe the problem lies, as is always a possibility, that I am too critical - yet, I always remind myself that eccentricity can lead to progressive thought and value. The question is, do I (can I) give up my innately alternative style of thinking for the norm to fit in: the answer will probably always be "no".
Listening to: Childish Gabino, "Telegraph Avenue"
No comments:
Post a Comment